A geek's journal about a sillicon valley adventure

Reflections

Another Christmas is coming. Seems like it was only last week when I took down last year’s Christmas tree. In all honesty tho that might be an actual truth in my case. The darn tree seems to take longer and longer to come down as the years go by. When I started out, the tree would come down right after the New Years celebrations are done and the world in general wasn’t spinning like a vortex. Then, it slowly progressed to “I’ll take it down before Valentines”. I believe I took mine down a little after April’s fool last year. Give it time and the thing will likely be up all year long.

Since another year has so fleetingly came and went, I figured it was a good time to pause for a moment and take stock of all that’s happened, give thanks for all that went well and generally swear at those that haven’t. Oh that and also the fact that I’m stuck at SJC and my flight out to the east coast is late.


2010 was turbulent to say the least. There was a myriad of key decisions that I was faced with, most of which was the colossal, life changing kind. Leaving behind an entire life, leaving behind a lifetime of achievements and the comforts built over the years really required a unique brand of mindset. Some people call it courage. I call it idiocy.

But you know, maybe its OK to be an idiot some times.

I believe that life is made up of a few key moments; crossroads where our decisions takes our paths on very differing tangents. The choices are never clear, the decisions are rarely easy, but it is precisely those moments that define our stories. So, if being an entrepreneur means to jump off a cliff and try to build an airplane on the way down (quoting Mr Penders), there really needs to be a willingness to do something that would be conventionally questionable. The blind leaps which defies explanation, guided only by belief or obsession that you can make a difference and carve your spot someplace in history.

There are still times in the middle of nights when I wake up asking myself what the heck I’m doing. I don’t know if those go away. All things considered tho, 2010 has been a very good one; and I wouldn’t really have had it any other way. We’ve done well with what we’ve set out to do, and given very limited resources we’ve put ourselves in a position where we can make a very real and very significant mark on the market that we’ve set our sights on.

Keep an eye out for 2011. I don’t know if the plane will get built or if the leap gets me very acquainted with a whole lot of ground. All I can promise is that it’ll be a hell of a ride.

Merry Christmas everyone.

Leave a Reply

