A geek's journal about a sillicon valley adventure

On the other side of the globe

Ok I’m safely on the other side of the globe. Just a heads up: its 2pm in the afternoon now and the lag is hitting me hard so I might taper off in the middle of writing this post. I actually fell asleep on the couch with one leg still in my jeans last night (come to think of it I either fell asleep or someone mugged me and was conscientious enough to not take anything and leave me in a reasonably comfortable position).


In any case, instead of my normal verbose manner:

1. The flight home took 23 hours with a single transit. I was seated next to a 70 year old granny who needed to visit the restroom every 15 minutes or so. If a granny fell out of the sky and landed on you for no apparent reason, I apologize now.

2. The whole switching between right and left hand drive gets tricky. Every time I switched lanes, my wipers came on instead of the blinkers. If you see a 4 wheeler driving on the wrong side of the road with runaway wipers, you really should get out of the way.

3. I’m not too sure how I feel about the AOL acquisition of TechCrunch. Most of us have come to regard TechCrunch as a source of quick groundbreaking and (reasonably) unbiased technology reporting. Hard to see how they can keep to those traditions when they’re now owned by a media company.

4. I’m *very* glad that this time a “proper” startup won Disrupt (proper as in not VC backed with bulging pockets and millions in the bank). Good on ya Qwiki.

Anyways, time to stuff me face with delicious cuisine of questionable cleanliness. Hope I don’t fall asleep on the road….

2 responses

  1. Welcome back. 🙂 Hope we’ll get to catch up this week ya.

    October 11, 2010 at 12:50 am

  2. Pingback: October for me « Michael's Musings

Leave a Reply

